Friday, January 20, 2012

Morris Awards 2012: Interview Series

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award celebrates the achievement of a previously unpublished author, or authors, who have made a strong literary debut in writing for young adult readers. The work cited will illuminate the teen experience and enrich the lives of its readers through its excellence, demonstrated by:
  • Compelling, high quality writing and/or illustration
  • The integrity of the work as a whole
  • Its proven or potential appeal to a wide range of teen readers
I am delighted to join Elizabeth Bunce, the inaugural winner of the Morris Award, in welcoming this year's shortlist authors. Please join us in celebrating what these authors have accomplished.

We begin by remembering an author know for her generosity of spirit. L. K. Madigan. Please visit Elizabeth's blog, "Mirth & Matter" to read the interview with Lisa.

Here's the schedule for upcoming posts in the series...

Jan 6 L. K. Madigan (Flash Burnout)
Jan 9  John Corey Whaley (Where Things Come Back
Jan 11 Ruta Sepetys (Between Shades of Grey

While were at it, let's celebrate the YALSA librarians, who take joy in connecting books with readers.

UPDATE: Where Things Come Back earned both the Morris and the Printz. Under the Mesquite earned the Pura Belpré. 
(Everyone earned an octopus tiara.) 
Post a Comment